Heatherbrae Fire – October 2013 #RFS #NSWRFS

FLICK CHICK'S MIX .....

 

heatherbrae from airport thursday

October 17, 2013

I didn’t take that picture. It was taken by somebody at Newcastle Airport sometime today ….. this morning I think. It looks bad, huh? It IS bad…..and it got worse.

It’s currently 9.22pm and I am sitting in my empty house, the air filled with smoke, the night sky glowing outside, knowing that I should have left an hour ago. First we got the text alert message advising us to seek shelter as the fire approaches. Then the phone call came…. on the landline that is reserved for telemarketers and the odd overseas call to use up the money I pay for it.

But I cannot bring myself to leave.

I dont care about my things or my stuff…..I have good insurance and that will all be replaced. My family has been despatched to safety, it’s why I am here alone. So why am I still…

View original post 672 more words

Leave a Reply

