Emergency Medical Services – Firemen, Paramedics, or What?

disasterdoc

Who Are These People?

Why does a doctor care about firefighters (other than putting out fires, of course)? As a Disaster doc, I try to envision an ideal healthcare disaster plan for my entire community – not that I’m ambitious or anything! I have a crazy idea that the more we understand each other’s jobs, the better we might play together in an actual disaster. Since doctors are not used to playing with anyone, I put my money where my mouth is, and arranged to spend a day with our local fire department. Not only did I learn a lot, but I also had a great time.

I don’t know about you, but I was very confused about the whole EMS, EMT, paramedic, ambulance, fireman thing. My doctor mentality thought firemen fought fires and ambulances/EMTs made people show up magically in emergency rooms. Wrong! On the other hand, I am not…

View original post 934 more words

Leave a Reply

